ED of the Year Award 2012

Ed of the Year Logo


Sharing our stories and celebrating our successes will ensure that economic development initiatives continue to grow. In 1995, the Cando Economic Developer of the Year Award was created to recognize and promote recent or long-standing Aboriginal economic development initiatives throughout Canada.

Three outstanding examples of Aboriginal economic development were awarded for their hard work over the year. Delegates at the National Conference voted in three categories:

  1. Individual EDO
  2. Community EDO
  3. Aboriginal Private Sector Business

2012 ED of the Year Awards

Congratulations to this year’s ED of the Year Award Winners & Recognition Recipients:

ED of the Year Award Winners

Eileen Paul Membertou Abenaki

L to R: Eileen Paul; Chief Terry Paul, Membertou First Nation; Abenaki Associates

Eileen Paul, Membertou, NS (Individual EDO Category)

Membertou First Nation, NS (Community Category)

Abenaki Associates, NB (Aboriginal Private Sector Business Category)

ED of the Year Award Recognition Recipients

Geraldine Hill Chief Roland Hamilton Niwihcihaw Acceptance

L to R: Geraldine Hill; Chief Roland Hamilton, Bloodvein First Nation; Niwihcihaw Acceptance Ltd.

Geraldine Hill, Niwihcihaw Acceptance Ltd., AB (Individual EDO Category)

Bloodvein First Nation, MB (Community Category)

Niwihcihaw Acceptance Ltd., AB (Aboriginal Private Sector Business Category)

See past winners and learn more about the ED of the Year Award.